The Philip C. Hamm Memorial Lectureship and Scholarship in the Plant Sciences

2021 Lecture and Scholarship Awards Program

The Philip C. Hamm Lecture for 2021 will be presented by Dr. Tia-Lynn Ashman. Dr. Ashman is a professor of Evolutionary Ecology from University of Pittsburgh on April 15, 2021 via Zoom


Philip C. Hamm Undergraduate Scholarship (Award amount: $1,000 per student):

  • Sarah Duber: Plant Science (Plant Breeding; Honors Program)
  • Quinn Johnson: Plant Science (Plant Breeding)

Philip C. Hamm Graduate Scholarship (Award amount: $1,500 per student):

  • Craig See: EEB
  • Laise Sousa Moreira: APS

Philip C. Hamm Graduate Scholarship -- Honorable Mention (Award amount: $500 per student):

  • Emmanuel Adeyemo: APS
  • John Hill Price: APS
  • Artur Stefanski: NRSM


The Philip C. Hamm Memorial Lectureship in the Plant Sciences was established at the University of Minnesota in 1980 by a grant from the Monsanto Agricultural Products Company in memory of the late Philip C. Hamm, an outstanding research scientist in the employ of the company. The lectureship is given annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the plant sciences.

Dr. Hamm, a native of St. Paul, earned two degrees at the University of Minnesota; a B.S. degree in forestry in 1938 and a Ph.D. degree in plant physiology in 1950. He gained worldwide recognition as an innovative investigator in the plant sciences, receiving 63 patents for his discoveries, and as author or co-author of numerous papers. He held a wide variety of research positions with Monsanto before his appointment as Science Fellow in 1959 and Distinguished Science Fellow in 1975. Information about patents obtained by Dr. Hamm.